Gluten-free beer

Taste

Nowadays, plenty of craft breweries are popping up and beer delivery services provide many types of craft beer. The issue is no longer trying to find a gluten free beer, but trying to find the perfect one that suits your palette. There are numerous craft beers that keep the people that have an allergy for gluten and still have a great love for beer in mind.

 

What are gluten.

Gluten is a protein which is found in wheat, rye, barley and spelt. Wheat and barley are ingredients that are needed to produce beer, and even though there is just a small amount of protein left in beer after the brewing process, it is still very likely that a glass of beer could still contain traces of gluten.

How many gluten are there in beer?

There is some uncertainty about the amount of gluten that is in a glass of beer. However, today, a beer is considered to be gluten free if it contains less than 20 PPM (Parts Per Million). This is a common rule in the world, except in Australia. The rule in Australia is that a beer can only be called gluten-free when it contains zero particles of detectable gluten. Keep that in mind when drinking gluten free beer around the world.

Brewing process of gluten-free beer.

The brewing process of gluten-free beer can be done in several different ways. The challenge is, to preserve the pilsner flavour. For example, Mongozo Premium Pilsner has a brewing process where the gluten is extracted from the beer in a special way. After this process, the beer is thoroughly checked for gluten by a renowned laboratory. The beer is only approved to be labeled and sold as gluten-free beer on the market if the PPM is below 10.